Mattebox App Turns Your iPhone Into A Virtual DSLR

When a camera is as simple as it is sophisticated, something remarkable happens: the camera seems to disappear. Instead of fumbling with settings, you just shoot. The camera becomes an extension of yourself, allowing you to focus on the subject.

With that in mind, I modeled Mattebox after the legendary Konica Hexar, a luxury point and shoot which is powerful enough for the professional photographer, yet easy enough for the complete beginner. With amazing image quality, intelligent controls and a clear, beautiful viewfinder, it’s easy to see why the Hexar still has a fanatical following.

I borrowed the Hexar’s moving brightlines, which discreetly indicate the aspect ratio and focal distance. From the Mamiya 7, I took the superimposed shutter speeds. Next, I created a custom dual-stage shutter release button. This gives you consolidated focus and exposure lock. Most importantly, I took the indefinable feeling of using the Hexar, and made I sure Mattebox gave me that same feeling.

With Mattebox, I finally feel that the iPhone can hold its own as a premium point and shoot. I still carry my Hexar and other cameras, but Mattebox is the only one I use every single day. I hope you love it as much as I do!

Dual-stage shutter release

Like any pro camera, Mattebox lets you half-press the shutter release to lock the exposure and focus. You can then recompose and take the shot. You never need to move your finger or thumb from the shutter release. Just press to lock, and slide down slightly to take the shot.

One-touch white balance

The white balance is locked by default in Mattebox, giving you complete consistency between shots. To change it, just tap on the dedicated WB button. It changes, then locks. Do a fast tap to change the WB only slightly, or a longer press to fully neutralize the color.

Exposure info

Even with a minimalist viewfinder, Mattebox displays the selected shutter speed, ISO, focal distance and aspect ratio. A lock icon indicates when focus and exposure is locked.

Source – Mattebox

Leave a Reply

